Legal Question in Civil Litigation in California

abandoned property

Thank you. A former tenant in our building dumped some of his stuff in the garage of another and. tho she asked him several times to come collect it, he hasn't seemed to have any inclination to do so other than a verbal Yes he will; at some point...

Some years later, the owner of the building gave one of the objects to a friend of hers, because it could add to her business and would cheer her up. 8 YEARS down the line (!) this guy calls and is treatening to ''get the law in'' if we don't return said object.

Does he have any legal recourse? I'm thinking, if a paid storage facility is allowed to sell the contents if an owner hasn't kept his/her side of the bargain.... even tho no money has exchanged hands in this case, are we still within our rights to have dispensed with his property?

Asked on 2/09/06, 7:16 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Terry A. Nelson Nelson & Lawless

Re: abandoned property

Tell him to take the proverbial 'hike'. Abandonment occured long ago, as did the running of any statutes of limitations.

Read more
Answered on 2/13/06, 2:17 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in California