Legal Question in Immigration Law in California

I'm a legal resident and I need to renewal my green card next year buy I'm scared to because I feel they might reject it's or they may want to deport me because 11 yrs ago I had been arrested twice one was for deprive of custody /visitation that got me a felony and did 30 days county jail probation for 5 yrs classes my second arrest was for child cruelty since I just wanted to get out of jail I did what the lawyer said nd did only 5 days county jail nd classes nd that was a misdemeanor so I finished all classes required and I paid all fines and everything that was asked from both arrests. I owe nothing both cases was 11 yrs ago last time I renewed my green card I had these charges in my criminal history nd didn't have a problem but now the laws changed I haven't gotten into no trouble I'm a stay home mom well until this year I decided to go back to work .pls what recommendation can any one give me is there a chance I can still renew without a problem my email [email protected] thnks u maria

Asked on 7/25/19, 4:25 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Marlene Hemmings Marlene Hemmings, Attorney at Law

I highly advise that you have a local immigration Attorney review all.of your court & arrest documents before you file the I-90, just out of an abundance of caution.

Read more
Answered on 7/25/19, 5:10 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in California