Legal Question in Intellectual Property in California

I would like to add Civil War photos to a book I've written about the Civil War. The Library of Congress has several images in a collection called the "Liljenquist Family Collection of Civil War Photographs." The website states "These photographs can be published without requesting permission" and there are no known restrictions on publication. I contacted a librarian and she said I should be able to use them but I may want to contact an attorney. Can I use the images in my book?

Here is a link to the collection:

Asked on 9/22/17, 11:05 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Keith E. Cooper Keith E. Cooper, Esq.

Yes. Images from the civil war are too old to be protected by copyright. They are in the public domain.

Read more
Answered on 10/10/17, 2:23 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in California