Legal Question in Intellectual Property in California

what steps are necessary to prevent someone from taking your internet idea.

For example a website built to connect all "mom and pop" beauty salons under one site. through a referral listing site where the consumer could choose the salon of their choice. try them out and rank them. The mother site would charge a nominal fee to be part of the listing service. In the end helping "mom and Pop" salons compete better with national brands.

in other words i would like to prevent anyone else from competing with this listing site.

Asked on 4/10/15, 9:06 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Charles Perry Law Offices of Charles R. Perry

There is essentially nothing you can do to protect your idea. You can protect inventions, artistic expressions, your software code, trade names -- but the more general "idea" cannot be protected.

Read more
Answered on 4/11/15, 1:17 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in California