Legal Question in Employment Law in California

I accepted the employment offer letter for Lab Operator Technician. during week 4 I was asked to go to the manufacturing dept and that I would be learning this particular jn the event the current operator was sick or was going to be late. Just to temporarily cover that job function and the line operator would learn my job role in the event I called our or was delayed. What happened was I was told to report to a supervisor Duong for job assignment. I had spoken to HR a couple days prior regarding safety issues on the production floor, But most importantly there was an issue with almost everyone on the production floor, in that effective communication in English and the need of a SOP standard operating procedures on the new job assignment. Personal protection equipment was needed for Formaldehyde that requires specific respirator cartridges. I had only been issued a cloth face cover used for the Covid19 protection. Safety shower eyewash stations on the floor had the water supply shutoff, equipment/parts in the eyewash bowl, containers and or equipment obstructing access to the safety shower/eyewash, many containers with 93% sulfuric acid, no spill carts or spill cleanup procedures. Lab had no fume hood enclosure for vapor diverted.


Asked on 10/08/21, 12:14 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

We can only answer specific questions. This is a Q&A service.

Read more
Answered on 10/10/21, 11:37 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in California