Legal Question in Employment Law in California

I was negotiating with a local Elks to perform weekly karaoke shows. Negotiations were concluded and a contract from the Elks was forwarded to me for my signature and date. I signed the contracts and they acknowledged the return of the contracts. About one week later I discovered that they hired another karaoke host explaining that since they did not sign the contract (their contract), it was not valid.

I was under the impression that since it was fairly negotiated, drawn up, forwarded to me for my signature and return, it was a binding contract.


Asked on 11/16/21, 8:40 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

You are correct. Negotiating and proffering to you the written contract constituted an offer to enter into the contract which you accepted by signing and returning it. That formed a binding contract.

Read more
Answered on 11/17/21, 11:42 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in California