Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

There are 3 tenants on the lease one of them is ready to move and wants there name off the lease but the owner is saying the only way for her to get her name off is to put in a 30 day notice which would also require the other two tenants who want to stay to move out as well. Is this legal? How can one tenant get their name off the lease without it effecting the others?

Asked on 9/04/14, 4:30 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

The landlord has no obligation to let anyone off the lease. If the lease is with three people, the landlord has the right to keep all three on the lease or require the tenancy be terminated by all three.

Read more
Answered on 9/04/14, 4:33 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California