Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

I followed my lease agreement for breaking the lease before the term end and provided a one month notice to my landlord - taking the rent responsibility in case the apartment is not leased till my lease expires. I took rent responsibility only because I was planning to not move-out if the apartment was not leased by a new tenant.

Two weeks before vacating, my landlord informed me the apartment is leased to a new tenant and also told me that I cannot retract my move-out notice.

1 week after I moved out of the apartment, my landlord said the new tenant has canceled the lease. Although the landlord is saying that the new lease was canceled before I moved out, I was never informed about this. I had clearly conveyed my intention of not moving out in case the apartment was not leased, so that I don't incur any extra rent. Now the landlord is asking me to pay the rent for the remaining of my lease.

When I contacted the landlord, they are saying that they didn't have any responsibility of informing me that new lease was canceled.

Is it legal for my landlord to charge me the extra rent in this case? Do I have any scope of getting out of this without paying rent for the period I did not stay at the apartment?

Thank you for your guidance.

Asked on 9/06/18, 10:31 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Samuel Stamas Law Office of Samuel G. Stamas

If you have this scenario in writing then you have a good argument.

Read more
Answered on 9/06/18, 10:49 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California