Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

I signed a lease for 12months in the state of california at an apartment complex and 6months into my lease my apartment was raided and i was asked to leave before they started an eviction notice. nothing was written down in paper work but the apartment lease manager told me i would'nt be responsible for the remainder of my lease due to my circumstanes and situation. once i turned in my keys i was told she would mail out my paper work and if i had a remainder balance for the maintence/cleaning fee. In which i did end up receiving a letter 9months later from a collection agency trying to collect alomst $5,000. i needed help on weather they can do this by law being that they said i wouldnt be responsible due to them asking me to leave because of my apartment being raided in a crime free apartment complex?also what are my right?due to not being able to pay this ridiculolous fine in the 30days before a lawsuit will proceed.also are they allowed to still fine you even after they ask you to leave/evict you? so any feed back i would greatly appreciate. thanks

Asked on 6/24/10, 5:43 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Stone Law Offices of Michael B. Stone Toll Free 1-855-USE-MIKE

When you go to court, just bring the video or photos you took of the condition of the apartment when you moved out.

Read more
Answered on 6/25/10, 11:49 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California