Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

My sister lied to get a restraining order on me. She signed as a landlord on a 3-day notice that was attached to it but my grandma owns the home we both live in, there are no rental agreements, the notice was never served and only has her signature on it. She lied about an altercation and included my grandma on the restraining order request without telling her and I was arrested at my grandma's house the same day I got the restraining order in the mail (I did not show up to the hearing because of a death on the family and didn't think she was going to either). Can I get this order dismissed and get any charges on her for all of this?


Asked on 6/01/21, 9:29 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

I'm afraid when you no-show a court hearing, you waive objection to the results. You can TRY to get it amended, but you will need to hire a lawyer to even try.

Read more
Answered on 6/03/21, 5:03 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California