Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

Tenant of 22 years gradually began planing flowers, then shrubs,roses and even trees around my backyard rental cottage. Her rent was controlled and increased about 2% annually, while I had to pay for her utilities and water the costs of which increased about 30% anually. She ave notice last month, as her mother bought her a house in the hills. Yesterday i observed that she and her boyfriend had dug up all the roses, the shrubs, and even the flowers, repotted them, and put them in a UHaul. Presumably they will plant them at her new house in the hills. Meanwhile my back yard is a dirt pit. Should I call the police?

Asked on 4/25/21, 11:51 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Saltzman, MBA, JD Law Offices of Mark E. Saltzman

I doubt that the police will assist you, but you can try. Instead, a civil action is appropriate, for the cost of repairing the damage.

Read more
Answered on 4/26/21, 9:12 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California