Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

I verbally agreed to split the costs of building a chicken coop for my tenant to house her 20+ hens. Just after the job was finished, her mother (and roommate) passed away. It was a tough time for her as she struggled financially, and I didn't have the heart to add to her financial burden then. A few years have gone by, and she is back on her feet. I need to bill her now for these improvements. When I brought this up, she said “too much time is gone by and I’m not going to pay you”. Is there a time limit when I can bill her for her half of the chicken coop?


Asked on 12/21/21, 5:11 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

There is a two year limitations period on enforcement of oral agreements.

Read more
Answered on 12/22/21, 10:22 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California