Legal Question in Legal Ethics in California

So i know that court appointed public defenders are over worked and under paid. I was thinking of offering a results based cash spiff of anywhere between 100-350$ depending on the results. My thinking being that money would otherwise go to fines and it might be a little motivation to push for a good outcome. Now my question is if there would be any legal issues in doing this, and if not would it be seen as a welcome gesture, or inappropreate and insulting?


Asked on 8/21/15, 12:08 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services

That would be a completely illegal gratuity to a public official.

Read more
Answered on 8/21/15, 12:42 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility questions and answers in California