Legal Question in Legal Malpractice in California

I retained a lawyer 6 months ago and gave him a retainer for $3000 and later gave him another $2500. He made many promises and filed motions in May and June but because a Permanent Restraining Order was fought(but won) all the other motions were never heard. He continues to tell me we are in a losing battle and he doesn't want to fight and said he would address all the other motions chronologically. I am receiving minimal spousal/child support($500 monthly) even though my ex is making well over $4000 a month. (His story is worse.. felon, con artist...) We are refusing to give my lawyer any more money on his lack of drive or even following through on his promises. He promised to get my ex to pay for the attorney fees for the fighting of the Perm RO(he had 3 previous TROs) and filed for it in May and never followed through. What can I do or what should I do?

Any advice would be appreciated. I have no more money to fight this.

Summer Ehrhardt 951-880-8602

Asked on 8/28/09, 3:47 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Larry L. Doan Law Office of Larry L. Doan

You should get another attorney, and in the meantime, complain to the Bar and file suit in the small-claims court to see if you can get some money back from this attorney.

Read more
Answered on 8/30/09, 6:02 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Legal Malpractice Law questions and answers in California