Legal Question in Product Liability in California

is a motel owner allowed to keep a photocopy of a persons id (without my acknowlgment) after that person had checked out from motel (no longer at the motel) the owner rented out to a different person NOT ME using that photocopy they had made (i didnt know/i didnt give permisson). owner had told other guest that i owed property damage due to other person they had rented to and that if i was seen on property that i need to pay $250 and if i was seen in the guest room that they had said this to they also would have to check out out and leave permisses. can i please get any info, that owner still has a photocopy of my id i dont know what else they are using my information for. is there anything i can do about this


Asked on 12/21/21, 3:46 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

That’s a crime. File a criminal complaint with the police.

Read more
Answered on 12/22/21, 10:23 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Products Liability questions and answers in California