Legal Question in Real Estate Law in California

Can my husband take out a Home Equity Line of Credit without my knowledge if I signed a quit claim to refinance? We live in CA. We bought the home together before we were married, and the loans were all in his name. We refinanced after we were married, and the bank said I had to sign a quit claim in order to receive the loan.


Asked on 12/06/18, 10:38 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services

Yes. Once you signed that quitclaim, you no longer had any ownership of the home. It became entirely his separate property, so he can take out whatever loans he qualifies for.

Read more
Answered on 12/06/18, 12:27 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in California