Legal Question in Real Estate Law in California

Q: We were informed that our ranch was in a flood hazard area and that the dwellings on the property are unpermitted.

June B., a Native American Indian woman purchased the ranch in 1992. The fact that the property was in a flood hazard area was never disclosed at that time nor at any time thereafter. We have discovered that the previous owner was told to stop construction, demolish the structures he was working on, and was issued a bench warrant. The property was then purchased by S.G., president of American Investments, a real estate company, who personally renovated the main house, secured a loan from Weyerhaeuser, and then sold it to June. The County, along with S.G. and other players such as the Title Company, loan officer, appraiser and others (who we are able to name) have, by their carelessness, incompetence and criminal behavior, placed her life and the lives of her family in peril and at risk of death. In the winter of '97/'98, the year of El Nino, June and family had to evacuate and barely escaped with their lives.


Asked on 1/17/22, 6:12 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

You need to post a question. I have to say, however, that if the issues arose 25 years ago you are WAY past any statute of limitations to do anything about it.

Read more
Answered on 1/19/22, 3:04 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in California