Legal Question in Real Estate Law in California

title company neglience

The title company that was used to buy my property 8 years ago failed to have the prior owner sign a certificate of title on my mobile. I am in escrow now and cannot close because according to the current title company I only own the property not the mobile. The title company I had failed to get this resolved and the person I bought the mobile from has deceased. Shouldn't the title company have caught this when I purchased? Isn't that what title insurance is for? I called them and they said they only have records for three years and that the title insurance only insures for one year. If they had made a mistake it is too late. I cannot close escrow and I am at a stand still.

Asked on 8/18/06, 9:58 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Christopher M. Brainard, Esq. C. M. Brainard & Associates - (310) 266-4115

Re: title company neglience

Well it might be escrow negligence, but your solution is a quiet title action and you will need an attorney. Give me a call.

Read more
Answered on 8/19/06, 12:45 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in California