Legal Question in Traffic Law in California

California Littering Section 23111 - Cigarette thrown from motor vehicle

My wife received a ticket today for throwing a lit cigarette from her car. While ignorance is not a legitimate excuse, we moved to CA 2 years ago and honestly were not even aware of this law, especially given how many people we see tossing cigarettes from their cars on a daily basis. Trying to find documentation on the penalties associated with 23111, it appears a fine of $100 to $1000 applies for first time offenders. It appears that 8 hrs of litter removal is also a possibility, but the language is vague on whether or not the community service is mandatory or up to the discretion of the judge. Will we simply receive a fine, or should my wife expect litter removal community service in her near future?

Asked on 11/04/06, 1:46 am

Experienced California Attorneys

At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at

1 Answer from Attorneys

Lyle Johnson Bedi and Johnson Attorneys at Law

Re: California Littering Section 23111 - Cigarette thrown from motor vehicle

The nolo press book "How to Fight Your Traffic Ticket" should be helpful. The sentence for a first offense is generally at the low end of the penalty scale. The penalty will be affected by the location of the offense, the local policy and the individual judge.

Read more
Answered on 11/07/06, 10:18 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in California