Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in California

Hi there. My brother passed away in 2010 and had a Revocable Living Trust. I was named a successor beneficiary but never received a copy of the Trust. I recently asked my brother's wife (who was the beneficiary of 100% of the Trust) for a copy. I received a copy from her attorney, however the Trust appears to be incomplete. For instance, there is no Table of Contents, the pages are not numbered, there is not list of Assets such as a Schedule A and the document is only six pages. How would I go about ensuring I have received a copy of the entire Trust document outside of calling the law firm myself and requesting. My concern is that they will still not provide the full set of documents. Please advise and thank you in advance!


Asked on 9/09/21, 8:17 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Haapala, Thompson & Abern, LLP

If you are a named beneficiary in the documents you received, you can get a court order for a copy. The lawfirm should know that and if you mention it they should give you a complete copy.

Read more
Answered on 9/11/21, 6:42 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in California