Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in California

Family estate lawyer not responding? An estate lawyer who had handled my family’s affairs for many years, was going to submit a Heggstad petition on my behalf. He received the agreed upon initial fee of $2,000 in November 2022. Since then, however, I have not heard from him. For the last three months I have emailed and called him many times but have not gotten any response. His does not have regular office staff and his office is in a secure building with no street access. I have to wonder if he is incapacitated or possibly has even passed away. My question is what to do in a situation like this? Might there be a professional resource or venue to see if a lawyer is still practicing?

Asked on 4/24/23, 12:58 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Schneider, Holtz & Hutchison

Contact the State Bar about this.

Read more
Answered on 4/25/23, 8:09 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in California