Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Colorado

my husband and i filed chapter 7 bankruptcy nearly 7 years ago. in our bankruptcy our second mortgage was included. i am just now (in recent months) coming to find out that this did not strip the lien, simply their attempts to collect the debt and that this company - since has been sold off to a collection agency, that has been sending us letters - anyway, my question is, after 7 years the bankruptcy gets removed from my credit report, correct? and what happens there ANY way to get this lien removed - is there some type of statute of limitations with this company after 7 years? i'm not sure what my options are or what my next steps should be. i have contacted the lawyer that did our second, but he has been very rude and not helpful at all.

Asked on 8/22/16, 1:01 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Stephen Harkess Colorado Legal Solutions

Yes, the lien will eventually expire if the creditor doesn't foreclose and take your house, but this will take many years. Your only realistic option is to offer to settle the debt.

Read more
Answered on 8/22/16, 10:24 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Colorado