Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Connecticut

Regarding a deeded view easement. I have quoted below from the actual deed, the wording regarding our view easement over our neighbor's property. They insist, that because vehicles are not permanent structures, they can continue to parking on our conservation and view easement area, which they do everyday. For the past year, while construction occurred on their land, sometime 15 vehicles were in the easement area, which they said was okay because they needed the space for construction. Please let me know if I'm mistaken, as when we bought this property we assumed the view would not be plugged up with vehicles.

"There shall be no developments, buildings, improvements, structures, articles, personal property, or new landscaping placed on the designated portion of the designated property....There shall be no removal or destruction of topsoil, sand, rock, gravel, minerals, or other material on or from the designated portion of the restricted property"

Asked on 9/14/16, 7:03 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Heffernan Heffernan Legal Group, LLP

Vehicles are "personal property". You may have to go to court to enforce the easement, though. Often the threat of a lawsuit is enough.

Read more
Answered on 9/15/16, 6:29 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Connecticut