Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Connecticut

Shares of estate is being divided into 1/3's, real estate sale was $240,000 but 6% taking off for not using a realtor, so the sale price is $230,000 - the oldest beneficiary bought the house, however under and LLC . In the accounting it said the net profits were $183,000. I asked why so little.. I was unaware of the property having a mortgage, it had a mortgage under an Investment LLC, was never documented as a lien and the same person who bought the house paid themselves back the "unrecorded mortgage" I'm so confused and don't know where to start.. Does this sound fishy?

Asked on 7/14/15, 6:22 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Heffernan Heffernan Legal Group, LLP

The existence of the mortgage should have been disclosed in the probate process. I would at least want the probate record to reflect the note and I'd want documentation that the debt is real.

Read more
Answered on 7/15/15, 8:57 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Connecticut