Legal Question in Personal Injury in District of Columbia

Held against your will

I was wondering what the law in the District is regarding the civil action for being held against your will. This question is asked from the perspective of someone who is not physically disallowed from leaving but constructively disallowed because they could not leave on their on volition after entering a place because they were locked in. Specifically, the facts are an individual entered a storage area to examine the things that they had in storage there. The storage area is totally automated and entrance and exit are controlled entirely by codes and machines opening and closing gates. The center closed 10 minutes before the alloted time and the individual was locked in for the night. There was no warning and the posted signs showed that the place would close later than it did. THere was no announced warning of the closing. Is there a possible cause of action for being constructively held against your will?

Asked on 7/20/01, 11:31 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Daniel Press Chung & Press, P.C.

Re: Held against your will

There could potentially be either a negligence claim or false imprisonment claim. You should see a lawyer about this and go over the facts in detail.

Read more
Answered on 7/20/01, 12:52 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in District of Columbia