Legal Question in Disability Law in Florida

Hi! I'm in the state of Florida and I am registering for an ESA due to mental issues. My lease clearly states, as I have copied and pasted this: "Except for animals assisting disabled or impaired persons, no pets may be kept in or on the premises without our written consent and payment of a $300 non-refundable pet fee." From what I'm assuming, this means if I have a registered ESA, I don't have to tell them that I have animal and that's a badly written lease that anyone can take advantage of. But I want to make sure and ask for legal advice on the matter. Would I be able to keep my animal or can my landlord deny it?

Asked on 3/06/16, 12:41 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Behren Behren Law Firm

I think your reading of the lease provision would be correct but would depend on what the definition of a service animal is and what type you have. Feel free to call or email if you wish to discuss further.

Read more
Answered on 3/07/16, 8:53 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Disability Discrimination Law (ADA) questions and answers in Florida