Legal Question in Appeals and Writs in Florida

I am wondering if I should just give up or keep fighting my appeal with unemployment I am also concerned if I loose I will have to pay back all the money that I have been given. I was working with my last employer for 7 years and was fired due to failing a drug test. I was only given one other drug test when I first started 7 years ago, Last year I was even in a bad accident on company grounds and lost part of my figure and the feeling in another I was never drug tested at that time and continued to work up until about 5 months ago. I started collecting my unemployment and 2 weeks ago was told I could not collect anything else since the company was now fighting it. I did think there was nothing they could do since they only have 30 days to fight it. I later found out that the paper work the employer turned in was a week after I started collecting but unemployment did not stop it then and I still received checks. They say if I loose I have to pay it all back. I am now clean and I know I made a mistake but I feel I was wronged since I was there for so long and was never given a drug test till 7 years later even after my accident. I need to know if there is anything I can do legally please help. James

Asked on 12/24/09, 9:00 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Sarah Grosse Sarah Grosse, Esquire

It would be very irresponsible for any attorney except YOUR attorney to advise you whether to pursue your claim or "give up." Retain counsel in the matter.

Read more
Answered on 12/31/09, 7:11 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Appeals and Writs questions and answers in Florida