Legal Question in Business Law in Florida

I am having my kitchen remodeled and hired a contractor on May 28th, 2010. I signed a contract and gave them a deposit for $ 7,100.00, which is half of what the job will cost. It says on the contract that the approximate starting date would be 6 weeks after the contract was signed. It is now August 4th and they haven't started yet and give me no specific time when they will start. When would they be held liable for breeching the contract by not starting when they promised.

Asked on 8/04/10, 9:07 am

2 Answers from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

Probably, but I would write them a certfied letter, giving them a final due date.

Read more
Answered on 8/09/10, 2:17 pm

Kevin B. Murphy Franchise Foundations, APC

The other attorney is on point. They are well beyond 6 weeks. You should also verify they are a licensed contractor in your state. Contact the state contractors licensing board. Also check with the licensing board about the amount of the deposit. Here in California, contractors can only take 10% as a deposit when the contract is signed. Consult with a good business attorney in your area for specific advice.

Kevin B. Murphy, B.S., M.B.A., J.D. - Mr. Franchise

Franchise Attorney

Read more
Answered on 8/09/10, 3:25 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Florida