Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in Florida

Federal Class Action Lawsuit against FL Dept. Children & Families

I am looking for FL-licensed counsel who would be interested in serving as Plaintiffs' counsel for a federal class action lawsuit against the FL Dept. of Children and Families. I am an attorney at law in Tennessee. FL caseworkers are refusing to give out basic screening information, e.g., whether a child shown on the official DCF website actually wants to be adopted, whether the child would consider living in a single parent home, whether the child needs to reside in FL or would consider living out of state, etc.

The official website of DCF children waiting for adoption lists the incorrect caseworker 90% of the time. Once a person does locate the correct caseworker, it often requires a miracle to get that person to return a phone call or respond via e-mail to prospective adoptive parents.

The result is that numerous children remain in the foster care system and never learn that someone expressed interest in adopting them but was turned off by DCF's unprofessional attitude.

I am most familiar with the facts pertaining to DCF's adoption policies, and I can write the class action complaint. If filed in FL district court, then the class counsel must have a FL office. U.S. Constitutional law and civil rights case.

Asked on 10/23/04, 10:06 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Dr. Michael A. S. Guth Tennessee Attorney at Law Assists Pro Se (without a lawyer) Parties

Re: Federal Class Action Lawsuit against FL Dept. Children & Families

This looks like a great question!

Read more
Answered on 10/23/04, 11:22 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in Florida