Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in Florida

Must you give a gift given if the original owner wants it returned

My grandmother gave me a large valuable collection of coins that I was supposed to use to sell and purchase a home. Some of the coins were stolen by an X boyfriend of mine and a sizeable restitution agreement was made. Now however my grandmother is voluntarily moving from my residence because she dose not approve of my current boyfriend and is demanding that all coins and money are returned to her at once. The money is in my savings account and I no longer have all of it since it was used for various household expenses while she was living with me. The remaining coins are in my bank in a safety deposit box in my name only they were put there with my grandmother's consent. Now because of her dissaproval of my relationship and her moving out of my home she is claiming that the coins were never given to me and she wants them returned immediately. What are my legal rights in a situation like this. Do I have to return all property that was once given to me?

Asked on 4/08/05, 1:33 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

W.F. ''Casey' Ebsary Law Office of W.F. Casey Ebsary, Jr.

Re: Must you give a gift given if the original owner wants it returned

Too bad Grandma. Unless she can prove they were only lent to you or they are stolen, a gift is a gift.

Read more
Answered on 4/08/05, 8:05 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in Florida