Legal Question in Consumer Law in Florida

I, along with 270 other people, invested in an online crowdfunding project (via a reputable crowdfunding site) in October 2014, which raised over $70 000. The project was based in Clearwater, FL. I and others do realize the risk of crowdfunding, we may or may not see our 'investment' or 'free perk' come to fruition, but this seemed very legitimate.

However, the project has been very sketchy from the start, never getting straight or honest answers from the principles, and they have all but disappeared during the past few months. No updates, no replies to any of the other crowdfunders.

Smelling something foul, I did some digging after the fact, my searches have linked the company principles in to other FL registered businesses: including firearms, a charity and another crowdfunding project - none of which are related to the nature of what we had actually funded. It appears that we may have been scammed.

I have organized an email list, and so far have 14 other funders who were left in the dark, and would like some resolution . Given the nature of crowdfunding, do we have any potential legal recourse, or grounds for a class action? I am not a FL resident so unaware of the statutes. Thank-you

Asked on 8/26/15, 1:28 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Angelo Marino Angelo Marino Jr. PA

This may be a viable class action and you need to speak to a firm that does this. See

Read more
Answered on 8/26/15, 1:34 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Florida