Legal Question in Consumer Law in Florida

I purchased a used 2005 Kia Sorrento from a local car dealer buy here pay here. They assured me the SUV was is great running condition and even disregarded my question out a a burning smell. They assured me it was nothing. The very next day I had to contact them about a check engine light and a gas tank issue. I had the vehicle in my posset ion for 2 days and requested to trade for a different vehicle. They told me no and said my SUV would be ready in 2 days. My gas tank also imploded on day 4. I've been without my new used vehicle for 6 days and was informed today that the mechanic made a mistake and chipped a piston now requiring a new used engine to be installed. I've expressed my concern and requested a refund based on the extreme mistake the dealer mechanic made. The sales manager was incredibly rude and disrespectful on speaker phone with me having 3 witnesses to his demeaning comments to me and his refusal to allow me to talk to the owner of the company. I made a $1250 deposit and two $85 weekly car payments. I know there are laws to cover me in this deceiving situation from this dealer. What are my options?

Asked on 1/19/14, 2:24 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Angelo Marino Angelo Marino Jr. PA

There are laws to protect you in these situations. More facts are needed and a review of your purchase contract. I suggest you seek a consumer lawyer who handles auto fraud. Go to for assistance.

Read more
Answered on 1/19/14, 7:52 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Florida