Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Florida

My wife received a writ of garnishment from an attorney firm last week from a vehicle she co-signed back in 2006. The firm is asking for 9K. Included in the packet was a form of claim of exemption form from florida. My wife receives Social Security disability income and can not work due to her disabilities. My wife completed the exemption form, marking Social Security Insurance benefits. She submitted the claim of exemption form, plus a copy of her deposit (Her SSDI payments are payable to me for her) info from Social security to the court house. Is her SSDI subject to garnishment? She has a zoom court meeting scheduled for tomorrow. Is there anything else that we may need to provide proof of her receiving SSDI?

Asked on 10/05/22, 8:57 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

If that is her only sources of income, it is exempt.

Read more
Answered on 10/05/22, 9:06 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Florida