Legal Question in Criminal Law in Florida

In 2014, when I was 17, I was caught shoplifting at a Target. No police were involved, but I received a civil demand letter and my parents paid the $200 fine. Does this constitute a civil ordinance violation? Will I have any record of this event available for employers or schools to see?

Asked on 4/12/19, 6:09 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Craig Epifanio Craig Epifanio, P.A.

Since there were no arrests, there are no government public records. Whether Target chooses o make it public is up to them. There is no civil ordinance violation involved here.

Read more
Answered on 4/13/19, 9:16 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Florida