If someone ended a relationship with me 13 months ago and said that she didn't want to speak to me again would it be legal, 13 months later to text message or call her and say hello and would you like to chat (be friends.)? I have heard that in general someone saying leave me alone is binding but in my state (florida) a single contact is not a legal issue because harassment is defined as a course of conduct(in Florida.) So do I run any risk by reaching out and saying hello?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Unless you had an injunction preventing you from talking to her, then you're fine. Calling 13 months later would not be defined as harassment.
Related Questions & Answers
My son is 16 and being accused of raping his 13 year old cousin in fla. what is the... Asked 12/10/11, 12:48 pm in United States Florida Criminal Law
A man arrested at 15yrs old for the rape of a 17 year old, on the arrest records the... Asked 12/09/11, 11:58 am in United States Florida Criminal Law
I'm on probation for a 2009 case for failure to redeliver. I was given 6 months to... Asked 12/09/11, 9:35 am in United States Florida Criminal Law
Three sherrifs came to my fathers house where i lived at 6:30 am to serve a warrant... Asked 12/09/11, 12:02 am in United States Florida Criminal Law
How much time can you get for a prostitution case? Asked 12/08/11, 5:45 pm in United States Florida Criminal Law