Legal Question in Criminal Law in Florida

If someone ended a relationship with me 13 months ago and said that she didn't want to speak to me again would it be legal, 13 months later to text message or call her and say hello and would you like to chat (be friends.)? I have heard that in general someone saying leave me alone is binding but in my state (florida) a single contact is not a legal issue because harassment is defined as a course of conduct(in Florida.) So do I run any risk by reaching out and saying hello?

Asked on 12/11/11, 1:24 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Craig Epifanio Craig Epifanio, P.A.

Unless you had an injunction preventing you from talking to her, then you're fine. Calling 13 months later would not be defined as harassment.

Read more
Answered on 12/11/11, 4:38 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Florida