Legal Question in Elder Law in Florida

I am attempting to get my mother into a nursing home. In filing for Medicaid it asks for her assets which she has no real property, bank accounts or money in accounts greater than $2000. She does have mineral rights and makes approximately $1000 per year. Could this make her ineligible to receive Medicaid? I am unable to pay for nursing home care. How responsible would I be?

Asked on 1/20/14, 2:01 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Joseph Pippen Law Office of Joseph Pippen & Associates

As long as her account is under $2000 you should be OK and she should qualify if she meets the other criteria. You would not be personally responsible.

Read more
Answered on 1/21/14, 5:59 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Elder Law questions and answers in Florida