Legal Question in Family Law in Florida

In Florida, in a finalized Parenting Plan.. there is a section titled:

Foreign and Out-Of-State Travel {Indicate all that apply}

a. _____Either parent may travel within the United States with the child(ren) during his/

her time-sharing. The parent traveling with the child(ren) shall give the other parent at

least ____ days written notice before traveling out of state unless there is an

emergency, and shall provide the other parent with a detailed itinerary, including

locations and telephone numbers where the child(ren) and parent can be reached at

least ____ days before traveling.

b. _____Either parent may travel out of the country with the child(ren) during his/her

time-sharing. At least ___ days prior to traveling, the parent shall provide a detailed

itinerary, including locations, and telephone numbers where the child(ren) and parent

may be reached during the trip. Each parent agrees to provide whatever

documentation is necessary for the other parent to take the child(ren) out of the


c. _____If a parent wishes to travel out of the country with the child(ren), he/she shall

provide the following security for the return of the child

If none of these are selected or filled out in a Final Judgment, what does this mean regarding travel?

The other party says this means that we cannot travel until we go back to court and get permission.

A lawyer told me that this means there are no restrictions regarding travel during my visitation time.

Asked on 4/23/20, 5:58 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

I agree with counsel.

Read more
Answered on 4/23/20, 6:18 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Florida