Legal Question in Family Law in Florida

In Florida, can the last month of child support be prorated by the paying parent? Specifically the child support is due on the first of the month. My child turns 18 in the middle of the month. The other parent paid only half of the support due on the first of the month. The Court said nothing in the parenting plan or final judgment about when or what date the support ends so I expect it ends when she turns 18. My assumption is that she was 17 on the first of the month and the order says that child support will be paid on the first of the month every moth thereafter (written in 2015) and no mention of prorating. Can she prorate? Thank you.

Asked on 4/11/18, 1:58 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert McCall Law Office of Robert McCall

Only a Judge can answer the question

Read more
Answered on 4/11/18, 3:23 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Florida