Legal Question in Family Law in Florida

A Premarital Agreement was signed in Tennessee in 1988. The couple are involved in a divorce. They are residents of Florida for over three years.

Do the laws of TN or FL for the Prenup apply by a judge and court in Florida? Both states honor the Universal Premarital Agreement Act. Are the laws similar enough that it doesn't matter?


Asked on 10/15/13, 8:46 am

2 Answers from Attorneys

John Smitten Carey and Leisure

The document should have a clause as to which state controls. If not then FL law will apply

Read more
Answered on 10/15/13, 1:35 pm


David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

Florida should honor your agreement, if validly executed.

Read more
Answered on 10/15/13, 1:40 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Florida