Legal Question in Medical Leave in Florida

Terminated while on FMLA

I work to the State of Florida and am currently on Maternity Leave. I was hopsitalized and when able to return to work I was told I needed a release. Even with my release I was told I could not return and needed to take my maternity leave. Two weeks later, I receive a a letter from Human Resource terminating for my job performance when I have working. I am not to return to my job. What can I do? What can be done? Do I have rights under FMLA?

Asked on 9/05/07, 10:35 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Matthew Sarelson Sarelson & Shafir LLP

Re: Terminated while on FMLA

Some provisions of the FMLA apply to state government employees while some do not. Feel free to call or email to discuss, it can be a bit tricky.

Read more
Answered on 9/05/07, 11:11 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Medical Leave Act questions and answers in Florida