Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Florida

I am a Private school teacher, and recently took a weekend getaway to the Caribbean. A week later I developed a cough and fever and my doctor cannot rule out the coronavirus as I present with all the symptoms. At the advice of my doctor however, he is not contacting the CDC nor is he sending me to the hospital for confirmation diagnosis, as it does not change my prognosis to self quarantine and stay home until this passes.... and it avoids giving me the “scarlet letter” by identifying me (even if vaguely).

The general paranoia about this illness now has my director scrambling and other schools around the nation with similar circumstances are closing for weeks.

My question: In the event the director decides to close the school, there will be revenue loss and costs associated with cleaning the school. Can I be held liable for these costs?

Asked on 3/10/20, 5:08 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Philip Duvalsaint Philip A. Duvalsaint, PLLC

I can't see how you would be liable for these costs. Why do you think that you could be held liable for these costs? Please call my office to discuss further.

Read more
Answered on 3/11/20, 4:43 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Florida