Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Florida

My teenage son is about to turn 16. He needs a car for transportation to/from school, etc. We will be buying him a used car. Should we title the car his name to protect us, the parents, from potential liability if he causes an accident for which the damages exceed the insurance coverage? Putting the car in his name will cause the insurance premiums to be much higher so this is not an easy decision.

Asked on 3/25/20, 12:59 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

I would. Otherwise, as owner, you will be liable for his negligence should he be in an accident.

Read more
Answered on 3/25/20, 1:39 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Florida