Legal Question in Insurance Law in Florida

stolen car

Hi, I have several questions. My car was stolen from a repair shop, I understand it's routine for insurance companies to investigate me as well but, I don't feel it is fair for the repair shop's insurance to request me to be fingerprinted (I'm willing to go but on the other hand why should I be treated this way?)plus dig into all my personal and financial info, it feels as though I'm being stripped naked while the actual criminal is roaming free. Would you help me know my privacy rights. They are also refusing to give me a rental car during the mean time, so I sit stranded at home. I don't appreciate it that they keep telling me to file a claim with my insurance, I don't think my insurance should have to deal with their liabilty on these matters. They also mentioned very oddly that the responsible party is the thief that actually owes me. This is inane since the purpose of insurance is to recover loss. These are the problems that I have an hope you can guide me with a solution for them. Thank you very much for any help.

Asked on 7/26/07, 5:01 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

Re: stolen car

sue the repair shop.

Read more
Answered on 7/26/07, 5:07 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Insurance Law questions and answers in Florida