Legal Question in International Law in Florida

Dual Residency

I was born in the USA and I have a home and have lived in Florida for more than 6 years. I also have a home in Costa Rica. I would like to apply for residency in Costa Rica. It has a requirement of 4 months spent in that country. If I apply and receive my residency and spend 8 months of the year in Florida, am I still a Florida resident as it apply to voting, school access for my children etc...

Asked on 9/20/07, 7:07 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Johm Smith tom's

Re: Dual Residency

When you leave the US, you remain a resident of where you most recently were in the US, unless possibly you demonstrate the intent to relocate elsewhere in the US.

Read more
Answered on 9/21/07, 10:37 am

Related Questions & Answers

More International Law questions and answers in Florida