Legal Question in International Law in Florida

I was inquiring if I have any legal action. I was adopted in 1962 from Frankfurt West Germany by American parents stationed in France. The adoptive mother had been institutionalized multiple times for psychotic episodes and had tried to adopt kids in the United States and was denied because of her institutional ization and mental history. The adoption agency in Frankfurt either overlooked this information or I was unable to obtain it. My reading through the adoption agencies agreement there was a three-year probationary period in which our well-being and adjustment was supposed to be monitored. During this 3-year probation period or monitoring my adopted mother was again institutionalized for mental issues at this point the adoption agency was well aware that there were mental issues nevertheless we were not removed from the home.

Because of my adopted Mother's mental illness I suffered great emotional and psychological damaged which I am still suffering to this day. My question is do I have any legal recourse either against the adoption agency in Frankfurt or the international social workers who were supposed to vet the parents.


Asked on 6/06/19, 9:32 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Wagner Wagner McLaughlin, P.A.

German law would apply to your claim, if one exists. You should contact a lawyer in Germany to determine if you have a claim there that can be pursued.

Read more
Answered on 6/06/19, 9:58 am


Related Questions & Answers

More International Law questions and answers in Florida