Legal Question in Employment Law in Florida

I'm the Contractor / Employee - Signed an 18 month contract with a local staffing firm to work at Big Company A. 6 months in, Big Company A furloughs all contractors for 2 weeks w/o pay. After returning to work, around the 9 to 10 month mark, I reach out to the staffing firm to "check" on the status of my contract and ask if I should start looking for another job (aka doing my due diligence as both the end of the year is approaching and I'm seeing an end date in the payroll system indicating a 12 month vs. the initial 18 month contract if you will - I'm told this is simply a system limitation and that I should be receiving an update/confirmation shortly). Shortly there after, I receive said confirmation as follows: "Your work order has been extended in the system through [the 18 month mark], it's official!". All appears well at this time. The following month, my premonition comes true - at the end of the year/12 month mark, Big Company A tells me "due to Organizational Changes, you're done at the end of year" *sigh*. I'm now out $60k in wages on the remaining contract. To make matters worse, the staffing firm indicated that they "were sorry and would do everything to find me something

~6 months later, not a single interview via the staffing firm, I'm out the ~$60K, facing financial ruin and am considering filing a case/demand for Arbitration via the AAA, as agreed upon via the initial 18 months contract - Should I?

Of note: I'm in FL and 3 months, post lay-off, I did successfully apply for/am receiving unemployment benefits (They found no fault on my part).

Thank you in advance.


Asked on 5/22/18, 7:32 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Wagner Wagner McLaughlin, P.A.

Yur question cannot be answered without someone looking at the contract with the staffing company to determine their ability to terminate the agreement if Company A "fired" you without cause

Read more
Answered on 5/22/18, 8:07 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Florida