Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Florida

I live in a busy beach neighborhood near lots f restaurants so pests are not uncommon. My landlord recently asked me to move from my upstairs unit into the ground floor, which I agreed to (all verbal agreement). The upstairs unit sat vacant for a few days and then she requested I meet her up there. A door and some floor mats had been chewed on by a rat. She asked if I had ever seen rats and I told her once outside by the trash. She immediately blamed me for the “rat infestation”. This upstairs apartment had a cat door that I blocked with a hutch since it didn’t lock and a dryer vent that was broken (which I was not aware of until move out).

A week later she entered the downstairs apartment without my consent and saw that I was storing plastic bags and winter coats in the laundry area (simply due to the fact that I was asked to move on short notice and had no time to put them in storage) and is now asking me to move out since “my behavior attracts rats”. Can I fight this?

Asked on 3/11/22, 7:12 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

Until she proves her claims in court and obtains a court order, you need not move out. Of course, after you lease expires, she is not obligated to renew.

Read more
Answered on 3/11/22, 8:08 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Florida