Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Florida

Yes I lived in an apartment, however, I decided to break out of my lease early, as I found someone to take over my lease. (the apartment requires that you find someone and pay 85% of rent if you want to break a lease). However, the person I found insisted on moving in May 13. I had already paid for the month of May. He agreed verbally to pay me for half of May. The apartment complex does not enforce this transaction and said it would have to be between us two. Furthermore, the complex is not refunding any of money for the month of May and charging me an additional 85% for the month of June. I already moved out and signed off my apartment to him. However, now he is not replying to my texts and calls about the paying arrangements for the month of May. Is there anything I can do?

Asked on 5/16/18, 7:48 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Levi Wilkes Levi Lawrence Wilkes, Attorney-at-Law, PLLC

An attorney would need to review the lease and any contract you had with the subleasee.

Read more
Answered on 5/16/18, 8:05 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Florida