Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Florida

paid my neighbor $125/month for three years to use his boat lift. During hurricane Michael while the boat was tied to his lift the lift arm bent and the owner wants me to pay $14,000 for a new lift. There was no paperwork involved just a monthly cash transaction. The lift is 13 years old with rotted boards to support the boat, also if the lift went higher there would have been no problem. The owner is suing me for the $14K, does he even have a case as there was no paperwork involved

Asked on 12/31/18, 4:54 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Barry Stein De Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & Zachary

Unless you did something negligent there probably is no viable claim. Review with an attorney all the facts.

Read more
Answered on 12/31/18, 4:58 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Florida