Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Florida

signed a rental agreement month to month to rent a mobile home beginning 9-1. I paid and got a receipt reflecting I paid a deposit, September and October rent. Repairs were not ready for me to be able to move in on 9-1. 9-7 I am able to move in. I meet with L.L to do a walkthrough .there is a sour stench and I see to small german cockroaches in the unit. I tell the guy no way can I move in with smell and roaches. He says he has 1 more spraying for roach problem. I say nothing and leave. I speak to him the next day and he says he will return all but my deposit. he says he will set a time to meet later and will call me back. I hear nothing and he doesn't answer my calls. COut of the blue following day I get a text saying he left the place unlocked, lease and keys on the counter and next rent due on 11-7. Do I have any legal recourse to get the money he said hed return back? Thank you for your time.

Asked on 9/10/19, 12:19 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Lucreita Becude Lucreita D. Becude, P.A.

If the mobile home was not ready to move into, then the lease was broken by the landlord. In order for you to get your funds back you will have to sue him in court.

Read more
Answered on 9/11/19, 9:52 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Florida